Get somewhere next year.

"Most people overestimate what they can do in a day, and underestimate what they can do in a year."
(inspired by Bill Gates)

2017 Goal-Crafting Intensive

Make time to make a plan, online on Jan 1st or 2nd

registration now closed

The change of the year is a pretty natural time for big-picture life reflection. For many people, this involves setting New Year's Resolutions, a practice which goes back 4,000 years to ancient Babylonians. It's hard to say how well they worked then, but these days only about 8% of people stick them out all year...

...and yet, according to some research, that's a tenfold improvement over people who don't explicitly set any sort of resolution at all! And you can learn to do even better, by setting ambitious but achievable goals, that you seriously care about and are prepared to work towards.

Event Summary

Although having specific goals can make an enormous difference for individuals' lives, people rarely actually sit down to do it, because it is never urgent. The 2017 Goal-Crafting Intensive is designed to provide you with the structure, focus and support you need to develop powerful goals that will help you have the most productive year of your life (so far!)

During this online event you will:

  • Explore, factor and narrow in on your most important goals
  • Define and prioritize the milestones that you will encounter along the way
  • Develop the strategies and habits to stay motivated and on track
  • Plan and begin implementing your next steps

The intensive includes advance content so that you arrive ready to hit the ground running, instruction and coaching to support your goal crafting, and structured co-working so that at the end of the day you're all set to go!

Event 1: Jan 1 @ 5pm➔10pm EST

  • = 2pm ➔ 7pm Pacific time (Jan 1)
  • = 9am ➔ 2pm Sydney time (Jan 2)

Event 2: Jan 2 @ 11am➔4pm EST

  • = 8am ➔ 1pm Pacific time (Jan 2)
  • = 4pm ➔ 9pm London time (Jan 2)

The Importance of Goals

The scientific literature broadly agrees that goals have (at least) four important effects[1]:

  1. Goals direct attention toward goal-relevant activities and vice versa
  2. Goals energize you to work harder
  3. Goals challenge you to persist longer
  4. Goals cause you to become more strategic

Some people (notably Dilbert creator Scott Adams) have claimed that instead of goals, you should have "systems". Nonsense. Have both.

Adams cites various successful people (Olympic athletes, Mark Zuckerberg) and describes how their systems made them win. But lots of other people had systems and failed, because their systems sucked. How do we know their systems sucked? Because they didn't achieve their goals, whatever those were. Which means that the ultimate metric for success is... the goal.

At the 2017 Goal-Crafting Intensive, we'll talk about how to use goals effectively, while not falling into some of the common traps, like lost purposes or a mindset of pre-success failure. And how to use a system to work towards your goal.

Goals + Systems > Resolutions

Registration is now closed

...but Complice can still help you think about your year. Sign up then come back here for directions to your yearly review.

Close Question?

What's on your mind?